Jack J. Chen, PharmD - Directory Profile

Jack J. Chen
Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice
Professor, College of Pharmacy
Joined us in 2014
BS Pharmacy, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
PharmD, University of Utah

Jack J. Chen, PharmD, BCPS, BCGP is Professor and founding Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Marshall B. Ketchum University College of Pharmacy. Dr. Chen is a double board-certified and residency-trained pharmacist. He is also licensed as an Advanced Practice Pharmacist. His academic and professional degrees consist of a BA Animal Physiology (UC San Diego, 1989), BS Pharmacy (Massachusetts College of Health Sciences University, 1993), and Doctor of Pharmacy (University of Utah, 1995). Dr. Chen completed a Specialty Pharmacy Residency in Internal Medicine at Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, and is board certified in Pharmacotherapy and Geriatric Pharmacy Practice. Dr. Chen also holds a certificate in Leadership Development from the California State University, Fullerton.

Dr. Chen sustains an interprofessional program of scholarship and education in the field of Neurology with an emphasis in Movement Disorders. Prior to joining MBKU, Dr. Chen was faculty at Loma Linda University Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine where he established and co-directed an interprofessional, clinical neurology movement disorders preceptorship program from 2004 to 2015. Dr. Chen was also previously faculty at the School of Pharmacy, Western University of Health Sciences. At these institutions, he also served as Director of Scholarly Activities and Director of Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences.

Dr. Chen’s recognition for excellence in citizenship, leadership, scholarship, and teaching includes LLU Teacher of the Year, American Society of Health-System Pharmacist (ASHP) Drug Therapy Research Award, College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) Original Research Award, California Pharmacist Association (CPhA) Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year, San Gabriel Valley Society of Health-System Pharmacists Pharmacist of the Year, and Drug Topics Hospital Pharmacist of the Year. He is a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (FCCP), American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (FASCP), and California Pharmacists Association (FCPhA).