COA Elects Local Optometrist to Board

MBKU congratulates Dr. Amanda Dexter on her recent appointment to the COA board of trustees.

Photo of Amanda Dexter, SCCO ’10, R’11

Amanda Dexter, SCCO ’10, R’11

  SACRAMENTO, CA., March 24, 2016 – The California Optometric Association (COA) is happy to announce the election of Amanda Dexter, OD, ’10, R’11 to its board of trustees.

Dr. Dexter, who is the immediate-past president of the COA San Diego Optometric Society, was elected on February 27 at COA’s House of Delegates meeting.

Dr. Dexter has been actively involved on the COA Communications Committee.

Dr. Dexter earned a bachelor’s from UCLA in physiological science and received her optometric education at Southern California College of Optometry in Fullerton, California, where she was the class of 2010 co-valedictorian and president of Beta Sigma Kappa International Optometric Honor Society.

Dr. Dexter completed residency training at the VA San Diego Healthcare System in La Jolla where she gained extensive clinical experience in ocular disease, geriatrics, traumatic brain injury and low vision rehabilitation. She currently serves as clinical director at NVISION Laser Eye Centers in La Jolla, CA.

Dr. Dexter resides and practices in La Jolla in San Diego.

Established in 1899, the California Optometric Association is California’s oldest organized community for doctors of optometry. Representing doctors of optometry throughout the state, COA is dedicated to support and advance the profession of optometry to assure quality health care for all Californians. Learn more at coavision.org.

MBKU is proud to share this and other alumni stories and news with the members of the MBKU community. To contribute your updates, awards and other announcements, contact the MBKU Alumni Association at 714.992.7832 or .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).