

Prerequisite Course Approval:

I have a question about whether a pre-requisite course is acceptable to meet the prerequisite requirements. How do I get it reviewed for acceptability?

SCCO has Articulation Agreements for many schools, which list pre-approved coursework. For a list of schools, go to: <u>http://www.ketchum.edu/index.php/admissions/articulation-agreements</u>

If you do not find an Articulation Agreement for your school, or the school is listed but the course in question is not, please submit the information below to <u>ODadmissions@ketchum.edu</u> and an admissions advisor will review it and tell you whether the course will meet the prerequisite requirements. Go to your school's online catalog and retrieve the following information:

- Course # and Title
- Course description
- # of units (please specify semester or quarter)

If there is a question as to which course is best to take, copy all descriptions of similar courses and submit them together taking care to make sure it is understood which course you desire to take.

Anytime there is the word "introduction" or "elementary" or "survey" in the course description, there may be a concern that perhaps the course is not at a difficulty level sufficient to fulfill the prerequisite requirements. In this case, copy all course descriptions into an email which will make it easy for an admissions advisor to review the courses and help choose the one that would be best.

All pre-requisite courses should be suitable for pre-med majors.

United States Regional Accrediting Associations:

The following accrediting associations are recognized by the USDE and CHEA and accredit entire institutions (as opposed to individual programs) in the United States:

Middle States Association of Schools and Colleges (MSA), Commission on Higher Education Accredits institutions of higher education in Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE)

Accredits institutions of higher education in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Technical and Career Institutions (NEASC-CTCI)

Accredits secondary institutions with vocational-technical programs at the 13th and 14th grade level, postsecondary institutions of higher education that provide primarily vocational/technical education at the certificate, associate, and baccalaureate degree levels in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)

Accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, including schools of the Navaho Nation.

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Accredits postsecondary educational institutions in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), Commission on Colleges

Accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (WASC-ACCJC)

Accredits community and junior colleges located in California, Hawaii, the United States territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities (WASC-ACSCU)

Accredits senior colleges and universities in California, Hawaii, the United States territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

Revised 6/3/2016 JAM