

Online Course Policy:

Can I complete pre-requisite courses online?

SCCO accepts pre-requisite courses completed online for only those courses that DO NOT require labs. SCCO requires that all labs be completed in a classroom setting.

There are some online courses formatted where the lecture is completed online and the lab is completed in a classroom setting. These are acceptable.

An online course must offer college/university semester/quarter credits, and be willing to issue a transcript with itemizing the course title, course descriptor code, credits completed, quality points completed, and final course grade.

If you are in the process of selecting a suitable online course, here is an article written by SCCO's Assistant Dean of Admissions about the how to be aware of what to look for when selecting one. You are strongly advised to read it before enrolling in any online course. Link to the article on SCCO's Admissions Blog: https://optometryadmissions.com/2018/08/01/online-courses-buyer-beware/

Here is a list of institutions that offer courses accepted by SCCO to fulfill the prerequisite requirements:

- University of New England: https://online.une.edu/
- Brigham Young University: https://is.byu.edu/
- UC Berkeley: https://www.berkeley.edu/academics/online-learning

If you are ever in doubt about whether a course is acceptable, feel free to email a course description and link to odadmissions@ketchum.edu, and it will be reviewed and either denied or approved for acceptability.

SCCO accepts courses schools who are both non-profit and accredited by United States Regional Accrediting Associations:

United States Regional Accrediting Associations:

The following accrediting associations are recognized by the USDE and CHEA and accredit entire institutions (as opposed to individual programs) in the United States:

Middle States Association of Schools and Colleges (MSA), Commission on Higher Education Accredits institutions of higher education in Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE)

Accredits institutions of higher education in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Technical and Career Institutions (NEASC-CTCI)

Accredits secondary institutions with vocational-technical programs at the 13th and 14th grade level, postsecondary institutions of higher education that provide primarily vocational/technical education at

the certificate, associate, and baccalaureate degree levels in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)

Accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, including schools of the Navaho Nation.

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Accredits postsecondary educational institutions in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), Commission on Colleges

Accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (WASC-ACCJC)

Accredits community and junior colleges located in California, Hawaii, the United States territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities (WASC-ACSCU)

Accredits senior colleges and universities in California, Hawaii, the United States territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

Rev Aug12018 JAM