Skip to main content

Class Notes: Winter 2018



Akio Kanai, OD, ’72, SCCO alumnus and MBKU Trustee, has been selected to receive the Brien Holden Humanitarian Award from the American Academy of Optometry. Dr. Kanai is being recognized for his decades of service in providing vision care to displaced refugees throughout the world. Dr. Kanai also received an honorary degree from MBKU at the SCCO commencement in May.

Joseph Mallinger, OD, MBA, ’72, was recognized at the 2018 Optometry's Meeting® Opening General Session with the Distinguished Service Award for his unusually significant contributions to the profession of optometry by the AOA. 

Dawn Miller, OD, ’83, SCCO Alumna and MBKU Trustee, was honored by the Boys and Girls Club with the Lifetime Achievement in Board Leadership Award. This is the highest honor a Board Volunteer can receive from BGCA. She was honored at BGCA’s National Conference and received a standing ovation for the 35 years of dedicated service to the Boys and Girls Club. 

Beth Pyle-Smith, OD, ’93, was elected this past April in Tucson, Ariz., as President of the Arizona Optometric Association. She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Optometry and is owner of Estrella Mountain Eye Care in Avondale, Ariz..

Lisa Wahl, OD, ’13, was happy to be back on campus this fall with Rachelle Lin, OD, ’13, this time in the role of lecturer. 

Erin Tomiyama, OD, ’17, was the recipient of American Academy of Optometry Foundation's Johnson & Johnson Vision Residency Awards. Dr. Tomiyama is currently a Cornea and Contact Lens resident at the University of Houston College of Optometry.

The full Winter 2018 issue is available online. Read Now