Skip to main content

SCCO Faculty, Alumni & Student Honored


Five individuals from the Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University have been honored by the California Optometric Association.  Recognized for teaching excellence, contributions to the profession, and leadership were a member of the faculty who is also an alumnus, three additional alumni and a student.

Honored were:  Assistant Professor Jason S. Ng, O.D., Ph.D., '03, for Excellence in Optometric Education; Perris Optometrist Charlotte Barnes-LeBlanc, O.D., '86, California Vision Foundation Optometrist of the Year; Los Osos Optometrist Ranjeet Singh Bajwa, O.D., '08, Young Optometrist of the Year; Glendale Optometrist Jeffrey Nishi, O.D., '10, Young Optometrist of the Year; and Optometric Intern Michelle Mijares, Class of 2014, was a recipient of the George I. Deane Jr., O.D., Memorial Leadership Award.  The California Optometric Association honored its members during the annual Optowest meeting on April 5.