Skip to main content
  • Gala Celebration 2019

    Gala Celebration

    Celebrating and honoring our alumni, benefactors and community partners.

Gala Celebration

To purchase sponsorships, tables, tickets, please call 714.463.7553.

Thank you for your support of Marshall B. Ketchum University through a gift of sponsorship or underwriting. These opportunities are a wonderful way to show your support for one of our programs, while at the same time receiving recognition for your business or family. We are expecting 200 - 300 guests to celebrate and support MBKU and its diverse and multi-disciplinary educational programs while also recognizing and celebrating our honorees.

This signature fundraising and recognition event benefits Marshall B. Ketchum University's

  • Southern California College of Optometry
  • School of Physician Assistant Studies
  • College of Pharmacy
  • University Eye Centers at Ketchum Health (Anaheim and Los Angeles)

Proceeds from the event will be donor directed to support the program of your choice.

Mark your calendars for Saturday, September 14, 2019 at the Bowers Museum in Santa Ana.

2019 V-Award Honorees

The Vita (Latin for life or a way of life) Award, or V-Award, symbolizes the impact that our honorees have on their fellow human kind, doing good work and showing compassion and support for others in their field. This year’s honorees are Morris Applebaum, OD, ’68, and Arleen Applebaum, as well as Lynn Caffrey Gabriel, OD, ’78.

Learn More

"This year’s honorees are significant because they are close to our own academic and health care community at Marshall B. Ketchum University. We will recognize their longstanding hard work and dedication to our community, and their own contributions to health care and optometry."– University President Kevin L. Alexander, OD, PhD

2019 and 2018 Distinguished Alumni and Young Alumni

MBKU is proud to honor two distinguished alumni and two distinguished young alumni whose significant contributions to their field and exceptional examples of MBKU’s values and mission. This year's Honorees are: Carl Boeck, OD ’79, Brian Park, OD ’14, Elizabeth Bergman, PA-C ’16, and the 2018 honoree Joshua Terry, OD, ’07.

Learn More

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
A Night of Celebration


5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Alumni Reunion Reception by Decade


6:00 - 6:30 p.m.​​​​​​​
Sponsor/Underwriter Reception


6:30 - 7:30 p.m.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Gala Celebration Reception


7:30 - 8:30 p.m.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


8:30 - 10:00 p.m.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​Dessert Reception & Dancing

Thank You to Our Sponsors


Platinum Sponsor

Lynn Gabriel, OD, '78

MBKU Gala Platinum Sponsor, Torrey Pines Bank logo


Gold Sponsors

Jones & Mayer

VSP Global


Silver Sponsors


Ray Baker, MD and Jennifer Kwon

Eric Borsting, OD

CooperVision, Inc.

LCS Constructors Inc.

Luxottica Eye Care

William & Judy Ortiz

Wilke, Fleury, Hoffelt, Gould & Birney

Additional Questions?

For further questions, please call University Advancement at 714.463.7553 or send an email.


Send an Email